But Then, Goodbyes Aren’t Simple

Dear Emma,

Oh, screw simple goodbyes.

Yeah, I definitely can’t leave without rambling one last time. I really don’t think I would be able to do it, and I’m pretty sure you are all used to it by now.

I have been wrestling with this decision all summer, because I was really proud of this blog and most of the things that I’ve created. I’ve spent a year and a half making posts and gathering followers and I’ve really really enjoyed every minute. I just didn’t want to throw it away.

The reason I’m choosing to stop this blog is simple: I don’t feel happy with my blog anymore. I feel too much pressure in what I’m posting, I feel like it’s too open and I can’t be honest. I’ve also unintentionally managed to create my blog around someone else – trust me, the amount of time I’ve been called Emma is unreal. I know that sounds really petty but I would really like to build my own identity.

I’ve met some amazing amazing new friends and genuinely lovely people; this community is a pretty special place here on the internet. I won’t mention many names but I really have made a friend for life in Elm. We’ve been friends for almost two years now and I’ve enjoyed every second. I could say so much about so many specific people because you have all been lovely, but I can’t say some and not others. Everyone here is so friendly, welcoming and damn talented.

Which is why I know I couldn’t leave completely.

Yes, I’m leaving Letters to Emma, but I will be starting another, brand-new blog, probably sometime soon, and that blog will be the one where I can finally talk about what want to talk about, rather than what I think I should talk about.

I am scared, because I will be completely starting again, and who knows how much of a success this new blog will be. I sure as hell don’t.

I won’t be posting the link or URL to my new blog here, because I really am starting again, but I will be telling my blogging friends, and if you are here on WordPress and you know me, I’m sure our paths will be crossing again sooner than you think.

However, if you do see me and think that I’m me, (sorry for the terrible English), please don’t just come out and say it – I do want this anonymity to last for a short while at least. You can message me and ask, but don’t leave it anywhere where everyone can see it.

I just want to say a massive thank you to all of you who are reading this right now, and thank you to all the people who have read, commented on or favourited my posts over the years. You are all such incredibly incredibly lovely people, and I am honoured that you took time out of your lives to read my ramblings on a blog in a small corner of the internet.

It’s weird. I started this blog as a girl of fourteen, not really sure how the world works and a mediocre writer of stories and blog posts.

Now I’m sixteen, I know a little bit more about how the world works, and I’d like to think that my writing skills have improved.

I’m at a new house, heading into a new chapter of my life, and I will always remember this blog as my first, regardless of what else I do in my life. I’ll miss you, everyone. It’s been fun.

Tara, did you really split your goodbye post into two parts just so your post total could reach 100 before you left?

Yes, yes I did.

 

Love from,
Tara

XXX

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “But Then, Goodbyes Aren’t Simple

  1. Oh, ​Tara, you’ve had your blog for so long, but you’ve created so many friends and memories so it is so nice to look back on! I’m so glad you are starting a new blog about something YOU want to write about. It’s hard to take your blog in a new direction when you’ve had one for so long! I can’t wait to read all about the things you like- I’m just so glad you aren’t leaving completely and a nice fresh start may be what you need! -Tash xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tara, I’ll say it here: I love you (as a friend obviously). You’re such a brilliant friend and you ALWAYS ALWAYS have been, and I couldn’t ask for someone better to support me. Your blog is wonderful, and I’ll always remember the first time you reached out to me, because we were both relatively knew and so it meant so much. You built something so special here, so lovely, and helped people. Be PROUD of yourself, as we are of you.
    This isn’t goodbye, but more of a “see you later”. I’m always a phone call away, and whenever you need me, I’ll be here. I know what it’s like to say goodbye to a blog and it hurts. Starting again, with a new blog, is scary. But I know that you can manage it, because you’re strong as hell. Keep doing what you’re doing, speaking your mind, and the blogosphere’s always around xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh God you’re going to make me cry. Thank you so much – actually I realised that since we started our blogs together I’m the one giving up before you. And I am scared, but I’m just hoping that it will be better now than it was before.
      I think it will be worth it if I’m able to speak my mind. I’ve had some new ideas and I’ve got to say I love them, so I’m excited 🙂 but I love you, you have been the best of blogging friends and I’m happy that our friendship came out of this because I wouldn’t trade it for the world xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. NOOO TARA! I hope I can find your new blog as I do so love your writing style – I’m so thankful to Elm for introducing me to your blog! I hope things go well for you in the future, and I respect your decision xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Luna

    aww this sucks and i wish i’d found this blog of yours sooner, either way i’m glad i found ya 🙂 good luck with your new blog too – hopefully i’ll find that one soon ^_^ i hope it all goes well. x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The only thing that makes me happy is that you’ll be returning, yay! I can understand that this form of writing may not appeal to you for too long. Ahh, I hope we meet again 🙂 (hopefully, pretty soon)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

