Improvisation

Dear Emma,

So I’m currently sat in a dressing room about to go on stage for the last night of the school show, and what am I doing? Writing a blog post.

Probably not the best idea in the world, but I’m going to continue anyway. 

As I said, this week is the week of the school show, Calamity Jane, which I am performing in along with Littlegingee and a lot of my friends. I’m loving it so far and am definitely going to be sad when it’s over. 

They are forcing me to do ballroom dancing which is pretty terrifying, but I think I can deal with it.

Something rather exciting happened on Wednesday, though. 

This year I did not get any kind of part in the show (a moment of silence for the acting that I could have done) but I am in the chorus, which is a lot of fun, to be fair.

I still get to see my friends who are playing main parts and I don’t really mind that much. At least, I’ll keep telling myself that. 

Anyway, on Wednesday morning one of my friends burst into the Drama Studio half an hour before we were meant to go on and said, “My sister’s not here.” 

She was playing a relatively important part, and so we spent a considerable amount of time panicking a little. 

My drama teacher then came up to the studio, already up to date with the news, handed me a script and said, “Tara, can you learn all her lines in half an hour and perform as her to the primary school children this morning?” 

Understandably, I freaked out a little. Well, a lot. 

But then when my brain stopped telling me this was crazy, I realised that my opportunity to give a great performance and “save the show”, if you will, had just been handed to me on a plate. It would be ridiculous if I didn’t take it. 

So I worked like crazy to make sure I knew the lines and ran to the costume cupboard to find a dress to wear, and in half an hour I was on the stage performing.

It was actually so much fun! I was a bit terrified because I was obviously underehearsed but once I got over that I was able to have a lot of fun. Also, I was playing a bitchy character, which, if you do Drama, you’ll know is the most fun kind to play. 

All day people in the cast and crew came up to me and said, “well done for filling in!” It was like my fifteen minutes of fame. 

I am secretly hoping that the drama teachers were impressed enough to give me a better part next year…it was scary beforehand, I’ll admit. But once I was on stage I loved every minute πŸ™‚

Besides, I had just seen one of my male friends go on stage and perform in a dress and heels, so how could I complain? 

Love from,

Tara

XXX
P.S. OMG IT FEELS SO GOOD TO SIGN MY NAME AT THE END

P.P.S I actually wrote this on Friday but I was so tired from the show I forgot about it!

7 thoughts on “Improvisation

  1. This honestly sounds like such an amazing opportunity. I’m glad you had fun! Sometimes, just going for something might prove to be the best decision one has ever made. So that’s great! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The wonder woman tag! – light up the shining night stars

Leave a Reply

