Dear Emma…

“I’ve decided to start a blog. This blog.”

Dear Emma,

This is it! You’ve been badgering me about it for ages, and here it is, my blog. Hello world!                                                                                                                 Correction: Hello, extremely small corner of the world! If you’re just randomly browsing the Internet and have stumbled across this blog, welcome!

I’ve always been told by my mother to start a diary. She says that I’ll be able to look back on it when I’m older and reminisce about my teenage years, “The best times of my life.” But I can never get beyond the first few pages. The imperfection of it annoys me and I just rip it out. Blogging seems so much easier, simply because I am allowed to edit things.

And also, I love the idea that other people are able to read this. Emma, you’re the figurehead of my blog. But I’m talking to you, even if your name isn’t Emma. Talking to someone else is a much more appealing idea that talking to yourself.

(And let’s face it – talking to yourself is the first sign of madness.)

So I’m starting a blog!

Honestly, I’m scared. Normally I would never be confident enough to say things like this out loud. These are going to be my deepest, innermost, and most importantly, 100% honest thoughts on this blog. But that’s what I like about it. There’s no pressure to be anyone but me. My fashion sense isn’t the best, and my hair is an absolute nightmare, I’m self conscious about my teeth, and I seem to be able to find holes in the ground to fall into even when they aren’t there.

(I’m keeping it anonymous for obvious reasons 🙂 )

I am a huge fan of creative writing, and I might be posting small excerpts of things that I’ve written. I also love music, and I’m trying my hand at songwriting.  But mostly I’m just going to be posting about life. Life, and how scary crazy wonderful it is.

And I would absolutely love it if you came along for the ride.

Even though my dream is to become an Internet sensation, I’m not expecting my little blog to go viral. But I know we can become a small community. I will love listening to what each and every single one of you has to say.

Teenagers, especially teenage girls, have so much pressure on them to be a certain way. I don’t want that to happen here. I won’t judge you, I will accept you for who you really are.

And I hope you won’t judge me, and you will accept me for who I really am.

I’m going to try to post weekly updates, but if I don’t, I’m sorry in advance 🙂

Thank you for reading, if you are still reading.

I would love to hear about you in the comments below!

Love from,

XXX

 

P.S. If you can name the quote from the beginning of my post, let me know in the comments below 🙂

13 thoughts on “Dear Emma…

  1. bino32

    Hey,
    just started reading your blog and I already like your first post. You’re a creative mind, I like that. Pen and paper are wonderful means to clear your head of anything. I started writing songs (i.e. lyrics) when I was twelve and I’m still doing it now (at 27). You should definitely have a go at it (and other creative things too). Keep up the good work. You have a pleasant way of writing 🙂

    Best wishes,
    bino32

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: One Year of Letters to Emma – Letters to Emma

Leave a Reply

